conifertree

Roots & branches & all~

give thanks

So much to be thankful for and no time to express it! take a moment & the computer eats words, and yet… such an important emotional activity to be relegated to one day a year.

Daddy love

Daddy love

I give thanks for Ryan, and for Deb who raised him; that he is so lovely with Em & Cas, and so certain of his role in our lives.  As he chops wood & carries water, building them a home, he fulfills destiny with the certainty of a knight at the round table in camelot.

mama & child

mama & child

As her mother, I am so thankful for Emily’s trust in herself, to choose homebirth and then to handle its intensity so beautifully.  Not to mention her bringing forth into the world my grandbaby, the lovely, and oh so perfect, Cascara.

my grandbaby

my grandbaby

Ah, the overflowing grateful heart to meet, with the experience of my own children’s life affirming presence in my life, the child of my child.  How much more affirming can one get than to present a child to the world to carry it forward.  For humans to continue on the planet despite what we’ve done to it and each other!  I am thankful for this obvious expression of faith in a future and hope in humans.

grandma conifer

grandma conifer

I am grateful these lovely and hopeful humans have chosen Corbett as their home, living in the woods and rooting into their community with gentle affection and sharing gestures.

auntie hannah

auntie hannah

I am glad Emily has a sister to share these wonderful moments in her life as I have had a sister to mirror the love in my life.  In a life so blessed, how can I not offer thanks everyday?

sister love

sister love

This year, for the annual Thanksgiving, I  find I am grateful to live in Oregon and found a home where water falls & trees grow tall.

latourell falls, november

latourell falls, november

I am thankful for friends old & new, near & far, alive & dead, who have walked this life path with me and continue to bring strength, courage, creativity and acceptance to daily life.

first oregon christmas, 1993

first oregon christmas, 1993

blessing way, 2014

blessing way, 2014

I am grateful too to have grown up in Nebraska; friendly neighbors & the cleansing winds of the open plains, of the midwestern pace and peace of mind, which fits nicely into Oregon’s independence and appreciation of natural resources.

nebraska windmill

nebraska windmill

I give thanks for our pets and the animals who die that we may live, translating sunshine into nutrients to fuel the creative expression of my life.

libby kitty

libby kitty

rabbit meat

rabbit meat

2 Comments

  1. Love it! Thankful for you in my life my dear friend.

  2. Dave Kane

    So sweet….all the best to you and your entire family! Happy Thanksgiving to all!

Leave a Reply

